Amazingly, Gerod Holliman Does Not Win ACC Defensive POY

Posted on Dec 3 2014 - 3:37pm by Brent Lepping

Photo – USA Today


Although he was up for pretty much all the major national defensive player of the year awards (including the Bednarik and Nagurski awards), Louisville junior safety Gerod Holliman was unable to capture the same title in his own conference. Despite posting historic numbers, headlined by his NCAA-record-tying 14 interceptions, Holliman was passed over for ACC defensive player of the year in favor of Clemson’s Vic Beasley. Now, this is no slight on Beasley, who’s had another tremendous season and will assuredly be playing on Sunday’s next fall, but when you have the type of season that only comes around once in a lifetime, that should typically be good enough for a clean sweep of pretty much any and all position-related hardware. As it turns out, Beasley was probably the more sexy pick and was more of a household name than Holliman……and, in the end, I guess that was enough.

ACC Player of the Year (votes in parentheses)
1. James Conner, RB, Pitt (16)
2. Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State (13)
3. Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson (8)
4. Gerod Holliman, S, Louisville (6)
5. Duke Johnson, RB, Miami (5)
t6. Rashad Greene, WR, Florida State (2)
t6. Justin Thomas, QB, Georgia Tech (2)
t6. Marquise Williams, QB, North Carolina (2)
9. Quayshawn Nealy, LB, Georgia Tech (1)

Clemson redshirt senior defensive end Vic Beasley, who finished third in the overall Player of the Year balloting with eight votes, was selected by ACSMA as the 2014 ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Louisville safety Gerod Holliman placed fourth  with six votes, and Miami running back Duke Johnson had five. Florida State wide receiver Rashad Greene, Georgia Tech quarterback Justin Thomas and North Carolina quarterback Marquise Williams received two votes each, and Georgia Tech linebacker Quayshawn Nealy had one.

Clemson’s Beasley is the ACC Defensive Player of the Year following a 2014 regular season in which he continued to establish himself as one of the league’s all-time top pass rushers and front line enforcers.

Beasley received 24 votes for ACC Defensive Player of the Year, four ahead of Louisville’s Holliman. Miami linebacker Denzel Perryman received seven votes, while Duke linebacker David Helton and Georgia Tech’s Nealy each received two.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (3 votes cast)
Amazingly, Gerod Holliman Does Not Win ACC Defensive POY, 10.0 out of 10 based on 3 ratings



Leave A Response